The Family of Fanny Selina and George Best

George trained as an engraver but took over the family carrying business. Then, with his father, he developed it into a coal and coke merchant business at The Close. He lived in a rented house in The Close near to the business. The business premises were pulled down in about 1930 and the Blandford Post Office was built on the site.

The Carrying Business The Coal Office

He married Fanny Selina Jenvey at Wimborne Minster on 26 March 1894. It was reported in the local newspaper that George was presented with bronze eight-day timepiece:

George's interests included the humanities, religion, art, education and music. He was a member of the South Western District of Foresters, a member of the Local Court 'Golden Arrow' (of which he was secretary 40 years). He had connections with the Blandford Grammar School and was a Deacon of the Blandford Congregational Church. He was organist at the church for many years until forced to relinquish due to infirmity. He was a playing member of the Blandford Bowling Club.

Alderman Best was a member of the Borough Council for 31 years (1908-1939) and Alderman 14 years.

Rev Hopkin Richards (Pastor) observed at George's funeral that 'on most Sundays during his ministry at Blandford, morning and evening, his departed colleague, friend and brother, came into the vestry before the service. he was a man of fine build, with generally a flower in his coat and always a smile on his face and a cheering and heartening word on his lips'. George was 'like one of the church's pillars -- one of its mainstays, morally and spiritually'.


George and Fanny had four daughters